In This Article:

    Disable the Welcome Back message

    In This Article:

      Background

      The Salsa Welcome Back message (seen below) is helpful in saving time for your supporters by pre-filling fields which they've already filled in on another Salsa page.

      When a supporter submits a Salsa form, Salsa stores a cookie on his or her system. When the cookie exists, the supporter is logged in to Salsa and he or she won't be prompted for any information that's stored via the cookie.  Instead, of asking for duplicate information, Salsa displays the infamous Welcome Back message.

       welcome_back_message.png

      This guide will show you how to disable the Welcome Back message in a Web Template. Once you apply this solution to a particular Web Template, the Welcome Back message will never display on pages that use the modified Web Template - ever!

      Solution

      This section describes a way to choose which pages will have the Welcome Back message disabled.  Any pages that don't match the configuration will still have the Welcome back message enabled. Here are some steps that you can use.

      1. Edit the template for the pages where you want the Welcome Back message not to appear
      2. Locate the <head> tag using the browser's search tool.
      3. Add a blank line just after the <head> tag
      4. Click here to see the page where the solution lives.
      5. Click on the "Raw" button.  A window with just the solution will appear.
      6. Copy the contents of the window and close it.
      7. Return to the template editor.
      8. Paste the contents into the newly inserted line in the template.
      9. Save the template.
      10. Test!

      A REALLY IMPORTANT Note!

      Please note!  This solution was changed in January,2017 to not require "&okay=true".  The newer version is faster and easier to use.  This section is here for clients that have kept the legacy version.

      When you edit a donation page (for example) and view it in the editor, Salsa displays it like always.  That means that the script that you just installed works, too, which means that the URL that you see will have &okay=true in it

      2015-12-10_1225.png

      If you are copying the URL to use in a web page or an email blast copy everything except &okay=true

       2015-12-10_1231.png

      TL;DR: The &okay=true flag tells the script that he's already done his magic and doesn't need to do it again.  If you have &okay=true in the URL and a supporter clicks it, the script will think that nothing needs to be done, and the supporter will see the Welcome Back message.

      Alternatives

      If you find that the script is absolutely not going to work (blind targeted actions, for example), the alternative is to create a page URL with the logout built in.  Please click here to learn more about doing that.

      Questions?

      If you have any questions, please collection this information:

      Send this information to support@salsalabs.com, and we'll be glad to help.

      Was this article helpful?
      2 out of 2 found this helpful
      Have more questions? Submit a request

      Comments

      2 comments
      • This is not working for me.

      • Hi Meghan,

        These instructions have been validated and they do work.  If you're having some trouble, submit a support ticket and our team will help you!

      Please sign in to leave a comment.